Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie

Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie
I love this time of year,  getting ready for Thanksgiving!  Every fall we take our son pumpkin picking, but it never occurred to me to try making my own pumpkin puree with some fresh pie pumpkins until this year.  I have been excited to make a pumpkin pie recipe from scratch this year, and I wanted to make it dairy and gluten free.  I found a great gluten free pie shell from Whole Foods that I wanted to try before going crazy with pie shell recipes.  You know what, it came out awesome and less work for me!  Which is good because I will have more cooking to do for Thanksgiving…

Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups fresh pumpkin puree ( or 15 oz can)
  • 1 cup organic coconut milk
  • 2 organic eggs
  • 1/2 cup organic brown sugar
  • 1 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp organic ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp organic ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp organic ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp organic ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • gluten free pie shell

1. Set rack in oven to the middle and preheat oven to 425F. Remove pie shell from freezer and set aside.  Due to studies showing concerns with aluminum leaching in food during the cooking process, I always use parchment paper.  Carefully remove the pie shell and place parchment paper on aluminum pan and carefully place the shell back on top. Here’s what it looks like…
Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie

2. In a large bowl whisk together pumpkin puree, brown sugar, and eggs.  Add vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, ground cloves, salt and combine.  Finally whisk in coconut milk.
Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie

2. Place your pie shell on a cookie sheet to make your pie easier to transport to and from the oven.  Pour pumpkin mixture into unbaked pie shell.  Place on middle rack in the oven and bake at 425F for 15 minutes.  Turn oven down to 350F and bake an additional 45 minutes.  A toothpick in the center should come out clean. Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie

By the way, check out this cool silicone pie crust shield I found…
Pie Shield
It can be used to cover your crust if it starts to get too brown.  Much safer for your food than using foil and I found mine at TJ Maxx!  I put it on the pie halfway in the baking process.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie

  1. I’m so proud of you cuz….you are a good mommy and I am happy that you are making wise and healthy choices for your family. Love you and God bless you always. This looks awesome and now to search for that pie crust in the store 🙂

Leave a Reply

