Remineralizing Toothpaste

Remineralizing Toothpaste
Once I began to eat clean, I started thinking about what the beauty products and cleansers were doing to my family’s bodies.  A good friend of ours recommended I visit EWG.org‘s skin deep guide.  You can search by product, ingredient or company.  The site will then show you a hazard score from 0-10, 0 being the lowest hazard and 10 being the highest hazard of the ingredients in the product that you search.  I was not happy with what I found in my products.  Propylene Glycol in facial products, body washes … AGH!  Anyway, once I learned what was in the products I was using and the damage it could cause to mine and my families bodies, in the trash it went!

However, one of the toughest things for me to find was toothpaste.  This was not due to a lack of options, we know there are tons of natural options out there!  Upon research, I discovered that fluoride has been shown to cause many problems.  Xylitol is a preferred natural sweetener that can slow the growth of bacteria that causes cavities and works much better than fluoride.  However, xylitol is sourced from corncobs and trees, so it is important to purchase a nonGMO product.  But when searching for toothpaste I kept finding products with carrageenan.  You can read here about carrageenan, a common thickener found in organic and natural foods and what it is doing to your body.  It’s bad stuff.  So I said forget it, I’m making my own toothpaste… 

Baking Soda is an alkaline and neutralizes the acids in the mouth to help prevent tooth decay.  It also acts as a mild abrasive for cleansing, polishing, killing germs, and removing odors.

Calcium Carbonate powder helps promote remineralization and strengthen dental health. The enamel is composed of minerals, primarily of hydroxyapatite, which is a crystalline calcium phosphate.  Remineralization occurs when trace minerals from saliva and other sources such as the calcium carbonate powder are reabsorbed and strengthen the tooth.

Organic Coconut Oil has antimicrobial, anti-fungal, and antibacterial properties.  This is not only good for your mouth but great for preventing bacterial growth on your toothbrush and toothpaste.

Since using the remineralizing toothpaste, I have encountered some great benefits:

  • Less Sensitive Teeth – A few years ago I started getting sensitive to very cold foods and drinks, especially after having something warm.  I tend to grind my teeth so my enamel is wearing down a bit.  I was using whitening toothpaste for sensitive teeth and it helped somewhat, but was laden with chemicals.  Since switching, I have had no problems at all with sensitivity!
  • Whiter Teeth – Yes my teeth are whiter!  I am a coffee drinker (organic of course!) and my teeth had a little yellowing so I always used whitening toothpaste, which in my opinion didn’t always do the trick.  I’ve done the crest strips and the gel with the LED light…. All nasty stuff!  But this toothpaste, tastes great and works!
  • No Cavities – Since changing our diet and toothpaste, no cavities!  Good foods keep your mouth as healthy as your body!

Remineralizing Toothpaste 

Ingredients:

  • 2  1/2 tbsp Calcium Carbonate powder
  • 1 tbsp organic Baking Soda
  • 1  1/2 tbsp Xylitol (I don’t recommend eating it but great for teeth)
  • 3  1/2 tbsp Organic Unrefined Coconut Oil, softened
  • 7+ drops of organic Essential Oil of choice (I use Organic Peppermint Oil)
  • 8 oz glass jar for storing

1. Mix calcium powder, baking soda, and xylitol either in a small bowl or in your storage jar, whichever you prefer for easy mixing.
Remineralization Toothpaste

2. If your coconut oil is hard, as it may be now that it is winter, soften in the microwave in a separate small bowl for 5 – 10 seconds.
Remineralizing Toothpaste

3. Add the soft coconut oil and peppermint oil to the powder mixture.  Mix very well using a small spoon.  It may take a little time to get it completely incorporated.

4.  If you mixed it in a small bowl, when done place your mixture in your glass jar for storage.

5.  Use as you would normal toothpaste.  Dip your toothbrush into your jar and scrape* out the amount you would like onto your toothbrush.

*If the temperature in your house is on the cooler side, your toothpaste may be a little harder and you may have to scrape it with the bristles of the toothbrush a bit.  When it’s warmer in the house, this will not be as much of an issue.

I make one for myself and one for my husband and it lasts about 2-3 months.  If you want to make this in much larger quantities (like a years worth), you can add 5 drops of Grapefruit Seed Extract per serving to preserve it.

Leave a Reply

