Mint Hot Chocolate Cookies

Mint Hot Chocolate Cookies

I love cookies!  Ever since I made the choice to put my son on a gluten free and mostly dairy free diet, finding great baking recipes has become a new adventure.  Recently I joined my son in becoming gluten free and dairy free… a bit tougher than I realized.  (I miss cheese the most!)  However, I enjoy finding recipes and altering them to suit our dietary needs.  It is also nice that there are many great blogs that post awesome grain free and dairy free recipes as well.  Soletshangout.com is one of my favorite blogs!  There are some great recipes on there!  Today I found this recipe.  Being me, I couldn’t resist making a few changes… I didn’t have any peppermint extract, so I used some peppermint chips I already had on hand and I decided to substitute coconut nectar for the maple syrup since it has a lower glycemic index and is less processed.  I will even tell you that I didn’t have enough almond meal (only 2 cups) so I use just used GF all purpose flour for the extra 3/4 cups and it worked perfectly!  I also subbed out some of the coconut oil for my homemade applesauce!  These cookies were a hit!  They came out tasting like Hot Cocoa with little mint morsels… soooo yummy!

Ingredients:

  • 2  3/4 cup almond meal ( I used the Bob’s Red Mill and it worked great!)
  • 2 tbsp organic golden flaxseed meal (I added this to give the cookies a little extra chew factor)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp organic baking soda
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup organic applesauce
  • 1/4 cup organic unrefined coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup coconut nectar
  • 1 tbsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Guittard mint chips *(optional)
  • 1/2 cup organic  semi-sweet chocolate chips

*I realized after making my cookies that these mint chips had dairy, boo!  So if you are trying to be dairy free (oops to me!) don’t use these… My fault for not reading the bag first!

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a medium bowl mix almond meal, flaxseed meal, salt, baking soda, and cocoa powder.

3. In a large bowl mix together applesauce, coconut oil, coconut nectar, and vanilla extract until well incorporated.

4.  Add dry ingredients to your mixer and mix until completely combined, scrape the sides and mix again.

5. Fold in chocolate chips and mint chips, if you choose to use them, with a spatula.

6.  Scoop cookie dough onto parchment lined cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.
Mint Hot Chocolate Cookies

7. Bake 10 – 15 minutes (it only took mine 12 minutes).  Turn baking sheet halfway through cooking time.  When done, place cookies on a baking sheet to cool.  Enjoy!
Mint Hot Chocolate Cookies


Leave a Reply

