Tomato-less sauce

Tomato-less sauce
We’ve been battling colds back and forth in our house for the last month so I’ve been MIA, but now I’m back!  I have a super tasty and healthy sauce recipe for you today.  I found the original recipe here and decided to add more veggies in the mix, because why not right?!  I originally set out to look for this type of sauce since tomatoes are on the high histamine food list and we are eliminating those foods from my kiddos diet right now.  My little man has been missing his pizza so bad, so I gave it a go! This sauce came out so good, my husband actually told me he likes it better than tomato sauce! That’s a huge compliment.

Tomato-less sauce
Ingredients:

  • 1 -2 tbsp organic olive oil or organic coconut oil (or a little of both!)
  • 1 medium organic onion diced
  • 3 cloves organic garlic minced
  • 5-6 organic carrots diced
  • 2 medium organic beets peeled and diced
  • 2 leaves of organic kale (entire stem removed from leaf and kale chopped)
  • 2 leaves of organic collard greens (entire stem removed from leaf and collard greens chopped)
  • 1/2 bell pepper diced ( I used a combo of green and yellow, it’s what I had on hand)
  • 1  1/2 – 2 cups water or gluten free organic stock (I prefer added depth of flavor from the stock)
  • 1 tsp organic parsley (dried or fresh)
  • 1 tsp organic basil (dried or fresh)
  • 1 tsp organic dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp organic thyme (dried or fresh)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp organic black pepper
  • 1 tsp organic apple cider vinegar

1. In a large sauce pot, saute onions and garlic with the oil on medium heat.  Cook until the onions are soft, about 5 mins or so.

2. Add carrots, beets, kale, collard greens and peppers along with 1 cup of water or stock.
Tomato-less sauce  Tomato-less sauce
Be sure the carrots and beets are in very small chunks so that they can cook quickly.

Tomato-less sauce

3. Cover with a lid and simmer veggies on medium – low heat.  Cook until beets are soft, about 35 minutes.  Stir veggies occasionally and be sure the liquid doesn’t boil out.
Tomato-less sauce

4. When beets are cooked through, remove pot from heat.  Add 1 cup water or stock, parsley, basil, oregano, thyme, salt and pepper.  Use either a hand blender, or transfer the veggies to a blender and blend until smooth.  If a more marinara consistency is desired, then add more water or stock.  Add more herbs and salt to taste if desired.  Add the apple cider vinegar.  This will give it that extra little zing to make it more acidic like a tomato sauce.
Tomato-less sauce  Tomato-less sauce

This makes about 4 cups or so of sauce.  It keeps in the fridge well for about a week or so, and freezes even better.  I love to use my silicone molds to freeze purees and store them in glass containers.
Tomato-less sauce

As I said earlier, my son absolutely loves pizza.  So I used this sauce and these tortillas with some organic mozzarella to make him…
Tomato-less sauce

PIZZA!!

He is a happy kiddo now!  And let me tell you, these little pizzas are soooo good, the sauce has so much flavor.  I’m trying to keep away from dairy, but I had to sneak a slice or two to try it, oops.  And hubby loves this too… It’s a crowd pleaser!

One thought on “Tomato-less sauce

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Chicken Parmesan | shortywhatwhat

Leave a Reply

