Reversible Sweater Cowl DIY

Sweater Cowl DIY

I typically like to hand make things to give as Christmas gifts, it’s just more personal and sometimes a little cheaper too.  A few Christmases back, I made some Sweater Cowls using this tutorial and everybody loved them!  I love mine too 🙂  Recently a good friend of mine asked if I could make her a couple more, seems when her daughter moved out she took them all with her! They are cozy…  I thought I could show you some of the ones that I have made…

Sweater Cowl DIY
Materials:

  • Old unused sweaters, sweaters shopped 1/2 price from Goodwill, knit tops
  • Sewing machine
  • Scissors
  • Thread
  • Sewing needle (for a little bit of hand sewing at the end)
  • Pins
  • Ruler or Measuring tape

1.  Pick the two sweaters that you want to use as the fabric for your cowl. Lay the first sweater flat on the work surface and cut the main bottom portion of the sweater.  Sometimes if a sweater is long enough, it can be used again for another cowl in the future.  This picture shows a previously cut sweater.  I found a good width of measurement for my cowls was to cut at 12″.  Typically you only need to cut one side open and leave the other closed, but since I cut at the portion of the sweater with sleeves, I had to cut up the sweater on both sides.
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

2. Next determine the height you want your cowl to be.  I just cut off at the neck and ended up with about an 8″ or 9″ height for this sweater.  You can certainly make it taller depending on the size of your sweater fabric.
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

3.  Now since I cut open both sides, one side needed to be sewn closed.  This was done with a straight stitch first and then a zigzag stitch to avoid fraying.  Now you have one long piece.
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

4.  Now repeat the above steps with the second sweater that you want as fabric for your cowl.  The height and width should be the same so that they can lay nicely together.  I like to chose a bulky sweater and a jersey type knit.
Sweater Cowl DIY

5. Next you want to lay the two fabrics together, with the right sides facing each other.  Pin the middle seam together so everything can stay even.  Be sure the rest of the fabric is flat and pin the edges of the two fabric pieces together.
Sweater Cowl DIY

6.  Sew the the two longest sides only, creating an open tube.  Use about a 1/4″ seam.  I did both straight and zigzag stitch to secure it nicely.
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

7. Now you have a tube.  Turn your tube inside out so the right sides of the fabric are facing out.  Fold the tube in half and meet the raw edges together.  Now the next part is tricky. You want to sew through only two layers of fabric, if you do all four you will not get the results you are looking for.  Very carefully navigate though the sewing machine as far as you can.  The rest will have to be hand sewn.
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

8. Now hand sew the little hole with a needle and thread, carefully hiding your stitching.  And your done!
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

I know it may seem like a lot, but it’s not too bad really.  I just tried to post A LOT of pictures to break the process down.  I just love looking at pics when I’m doing something… this way I know I’m on the right track!

Sweater Cowl DIY
Yep, that’s me!  And my cozy sweater cowl…. hope you make one and love it as much as I do!
Excuse how tired I look, still getting over my cold :-/

Some pics of the others I made…
Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY  Sweater Cowl DIY

Leave a Reply

