Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabar

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabars

I love to shop on Vitacost.com.  It’s a great place for me to find products at a discount (mostly).  I always comparison shop and only get products online that are the better deal.  I find that Vitacost.com has a great selection of organic items as well, and sometimes I discover a new treat I want to try…
clif bar  clif bar

I found this awesome organic clif fruit and nut bar, and it only has 4 ingredients!  It was delicious and I immediately thought, I can make this for much cheaper than I paid for the bar! (They were $1.99 each)  I went on a hunt for recipe ideas, but had a hard time at first finding what I wanted.  Then I found some recipes for Larabars and it turns out they are similar!  I’ve never had a Larabar before so I didn’t know much about them.  I found this recipe, and it tastes just as good as the store-bought bar.  I experimented and came up with a few more recipe ideas….

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabar

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabar

Ingredients:

  • 4 organic medjool dates
  • 3 heaping tbsp organic dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp Garden of Life Raw Organic Protein Powder (original or vanilla)
  • 1/8 cup organic raw cashews
  • 1/8 cup organic raw almonds
  • 1/4 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips
  • dash sea salt (enhances sweetness)
  • 1/2 tsp filtered water if needed (helps everything come together if the fruit is not moist enough)

Supplies:

  • food processor
  • parchment paper
  • rolling pin

1. Cut open dates and remove and discard the pits.  Roughly chop the dates.

2. Place cashews and almonds in food processor and pulse a few times until roughly chopped.
IMG_4038

3. Add dates, cranberries, protein powder, vanilla extract, and sea salt.  Process until it starts to come together.  If needed, add water to help.  Try not to over process.  (I did this the first time and the bars came out too sticky)
IMG_4042

4. Once all the dough comes together, remove and place on a sheet of parchment paper.  You can either use a long enough piece that can fold over the dough, or use two separate sheets and place the dough in between.
Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabars

5.  Press the pile of dough together by hand and sprinkle on the chocolate chips.  Then cover with parchment paper and begin to roll the dough until it is mashed together tight enough to hold without crumbling.
IMG_4046 Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabars

6. Roll to desired thickness and cut into bars and refrigerate.  Enjoy!
Cranberry Chocolate Chip Protein Larabars
A few more recipes I came up with….

Figgy Crunch Larabar

Figgy Crunch Larabar

Ingredients:

  • 17 organic dried figs
  • 1/4 cup organic raw cashews
  • 1/4 cup organic raw almonds
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp filtered water if needed

Follow directions from recipe above.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Larabar

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Larabars

Ingredients:

  • 1  1/4 cup organic dried raisins
  • 3/4 cup organic gluten free rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup organic raw pecans
  • 1/4 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp organic ground cinnamon
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1 – 2 tsp filtered water if needed

In food processor, grind rolled oats to a mealy texture.  Follow directions from recipe above.
IMG_4052

I’m still coming up with a few more ideas and will post them soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

