DIY Lower a Neckline

DIY How to Lower Neckline

So my hubby got me a serger for Christmas and it took me a few months before I even pulled it out of the box.  I was so excited to have one, but seeing it in front of me somehow intimidated me.  Once I finally opened the box and looked at the tutorial videos, I was once again excited to try it out.  I have used it a couple times since then and thought I would show you a simple little project I did.

I have a tshirt that I really like, but the neck was just too tight and felt uncomfortable.  I thought it would be great if I could try to adjust the neckline myself.  I know that the serger makes these kind of projects easier sometimes and I was eager to give it a go.

1. Mark on the shirt, where you want the neckline to be and add a 1/4″ seam allowance.
DIY How to Lower Neckline

2.  Undo the front neckline with a seam ripper from shoulder to shoulder.
IMG_4177  IMG_4178

3. Fold the front portion of the shirt in half lengthwise.  Be sure to keep the back of the shirt separated so as not to cut the back of the shirt.  Meet shoulder to shoulder and pin around the neckline to keep in place.
IMG_4180

4. Beginning on the folded edge where you made your mark, cut a new neckline meeting at the shoulder seam where the ribbing is still attached.
Photo  IMG_4182

5.  Attach the ribbing edge to the newly cut neckline edge placing right sides together and pin.
DIY How to Lower Neckline

6.  Serge this new seam together from should to shoulder.  If you don’t have a serger, use a stitch on your sewing machine that is suited for stretchy knits such as the zigzag stitch.  Press the seem down with and iron, and voilà, a new neckline!
DIY Lower a Neckline

 

 

Leave a Reply

