DIY Face Cream

DIY Face Cream

I have been on the search for a face cream for a while now.  The all organic face creams available tend to be quite pricey and I still find some of them to contain too many ingredients for my liking.  I knew there had to be something simple out there that I could make.  I was so thrilled to find this recipe.  It looked simple, straight to the point and quite promising.  As usual I fiddled with the ingredients a little first.  I will say that mine did not seem to get as whipped as the original recipe looked.  Perhaps it was from the changes that I made, but it came out perfect none the less.

For my face I apply small dabs on my cheeks, chin, and forehead and rub in from there.  The cream melts so nicely and blends easily while the aloe creates a cool and refreshing feeling on my skin.  I have been using this cream for about three months now, and I have noticed a difference in my complexion.  My skin looks firmer and seems to have more of a glow than it did before.

I also have some friends that tried this cream and loved it so much that they use it for the body as well!  However, because this lotion contains a aloe vera, it has a shorter shelf life.  The original recipe says to use within 3 months… I’ve been using mine for 3 months and it still seems to be fine, however I keep a close eye on it.

This recipe makes about 6 oz and was divided into small 4 oz and 2 oz jars that were sanitized.

DIY Face Cream
Ingredients:

  • 3  1/2 tbsp unrefined organic Shea Butter
  • 1 tbsp unrefined organic Jojoba Oil
  • 1 tbsp Chamomile/ Calendula infused oil
  • 3 tbsp organic Aloe Vera Gel
  • 1 tsp vitamin E oil (I used Nature’s Gate ) – works as a preservative
  • 4-6 drops of desired organic Essential Oil based on skin type (I used 3 drops Tea Tree and 3 drops sweet orange)

1.  In a double boiler on medium high heat, melt the shea butter.
IMG_3906

2.  When shea butter has melted, remove double boiler from the heat.  Add jojoba oil and stir.  Set aside the container with the mixture to cool.
IMG_3907

3.  In a separate bowl mix aloe vera gel with the vitamin E oil.  Place briefly over the warm pot to warm the liquid slightly, careful not to overheat as this will destroy the beneficial properties.  Stir frequently.
IMG_3913

4.  Once shea butter mixture has cooled some, add to a blender*.  Start the blender and slowly pour aloe vera mixture along the inside of the blender.  Add in your essential oils of choice.
IMG_3917

5.  Blend on high for a few minutes until creamy.  (Mine remained a bit liquidy)
IMG_3921

6. Pour liquid into jars and place in the fridge to set up.
DIY Face Cream

*Next time I plan to use my immersion blender to see if this allows the mixture to whip up more.

I absolutely love this cream and I hope you do too!

Update: I tried this with my stainless steel immersion blender and it worked out amazing… created a thicker mixture.

Leave a Reply

