Chocolate Kale Chips

Chocolate Kale Chips

If you would have asked me a couple years ago to try a kale chip, I would have given you a funny look and said “No thanks”… but a lot of things have changed and I have expanded my palette since then.  My husband was the first to try kale chips, the cheesy kind and some others.  I was slow to give it a try, and once I did I was addicted!  One day I found some awesome chocolate kale chips and thought “I gotta try these.”  Cant’ go wrong with chocolate right?  They were AMAZING!  I never thought I would love eating a chocolate kale chip!  However, these suckers are pricey!  This was another one of the reasons I thought it would be worthwhile to invest in a dehydrator.  Those bags of kale chips are so tiny and so expensive…. but with a dehydrator I can make a bunch more for a bargain.  So I searched for a recipe that would be close to the ingredients of the purchased product.  After a few trials (to the complete joy of my husband) I came up with this…

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup organic raw cashews (soaked 4 hours)
  • 1/2 cup organic unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/3 cup organic raw cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp organic ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp organic coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup organic coconut nectar
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup organic raw sunflower seeds
  • 1 large bunch of kale, stems removed (curly or flat leaf)

1. Soak cashews for 4 hours (no more than that or they become slimy).  Soaking raw nuts helps remove phytic acid and increase nutritional absorption by the body.  Read this.  Here is a great reference table for soaking and sprouting.

2. Drain cashews and place in a food processor or blender.  Give a few pulses.  Add coconut flakes, cocoa powder, cinnamon, vanilla extract, coconut oil, coconut nectar, and water.   Blend all together until smooth.
IMG_4397  IMG_4398

3. Add sunflower seeds and give a few pulses.  This helps add a little extra texture and crunch to the mixture.
IMG_4401

4. Rinse and remove stems from kale leaves.  Rip kale into chip size pieces.  Toss into a bowl and add chocolate sauce.  Now it’s time to get your hands dirty… use your hands and massage and coat the kale with the chocolate sauce.
IMG_4405

5. Place chocolate cover kale onto your dehydrator sheets.  Be sure to mostly flatten each leaf and not to overlap them.  Dehydrate on 115F for about 12 hours.  Give them a check and if not crispy enough, you can leave it in 30 min at a time after that.  Be careful not to forget about them tho…
Chocolate Kale Chips

6. When done, remove and enjoy!
Chocolate Kale Chips
Crispy chocolatey goodness!  I store them in an airtight container with moisture wicking packs that I saved from previous kale chips.

One thing I will say is that after a few days they lose a little of their crispiness.  They are still delicious, but I plan on trying a few new things to see if I can get that crunch to last a little longer 🙂  I’ll let you know my results.

One thought on “Chocolate Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: Homemade Beef Jerky | shortywhatwhat

Leave a Reply

