Dairy Free Eggnog Icing

Dairy Free Eggnog Icing

During the holidays my son asked me to make gingerbread man cookies.  At first I was surprised and then a little confused…. I wasn’t sure if he wanted actual gingerbread cookies (he’s never had them before) or if he wanted cookies just in the shape of the gingerbread man.  My husband and I decided, lets try the gingerbread man cookies and see how it goes.  I found a wonderful gingerbread men recipe on minimalistbaker.com.  They are vegan and gluten free and taste absolutely AMAZING!

* side note – when I made these cookies I used 1 1/4 cup Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour and added 1 1/2 tbsp of organic cocoa powder (not dutch processed).

Anyway, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do for the icing for the cookies.  Royal icing seemed the common used icing for gingerbread cookies, but I didn’t desire that.  It being the holidays, I had So Delicious Coconut milk Nog in my fridge (sooo good!).  My thinking was that the Nog would be a perfect flavor combo with the cookies.  So I created this icing recipe.

IMG_5166.JPG

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp soy free Earth Balance, melted
  • 2 tbsp So Delicious coconut milk Nog
  • 1/8 – 1/4 tsp organic ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp organic powdered sugar, sifted

1. Use a whisk to combine all ingredients. It will be semi thick in consistency, this allows the icing to harden quicker on the cookie.
IMG_5167.JPG IMG_5168.JPG IMG_5172.JPG

2. Scoop icing in a piping bag if you have one available.  Be sure cookies have completely cooled and pipe icing as you desire onto the cookies.  Enjoy!  It takes about 10 – 20 minutes for icing to completely harden.  Store cookies in an airtight container.
IMG_5174.JPG IMG_5175.JPG

Leave a Reply

