Pom Pom Garland

Pom Pom Garland
This book is one of my son’s favorite Christmas stories.  My son absolutely loves Christmas time! So do I…. It’s filled with magic, hope, love, and renewal.  My son looks forward to celebrating Jesus’ birthday, he even wants me to bake Him a cake this year haha (he knows every birthday comes with cake!).

Pom Pom Garland
This part of the book is what inspired today’s post.  My little one is 4 1/2 and loves to be an active helper.  He saw this and immediately saw an opportunity to take part in an activity.  However, I’m not too keen on having food on my tree… attracting critters and such.  Plus our dog Petie might find it too tempting a treat.  So I found some Pom Poms from Walmart and used some cotton embroidery string I had laying around (it’s thinner than yarn and cheap to buy) and a larger dull needle.  This is a great project for kids 4 +, it’s great for working on those fine motor skills.  My son was able to do this project on his own and at the end I spaced the pom poms apart.

Pom Pom Garland
Supplies:

  • cotton embroidery string or very thin yarn
  • bag of pom poms
  • larger size dull tip needle or plastic crochet needle will work

1. Put one end of string through the needle tip and pull through about 5 – 6 inches so it will not come out while the kids are pulling it through the pom pom.  Pom Pom Garland

2.  Give slack on the other end of the string by unwinding some, but do not cut so that you can have plenty of space at the end to space apart the pom poms.

3. Have your child place the needle in the middle of each pom pom and pull through and continue until they are finished with their poms. Pom Pom Garland
Pom Pom Garland

4.  When they are through, the parent can then start at the first pom pom that was put on the string and begin spacing them farther apart until it looks like the garland you and your child are happy with.  Place a knot on the string before the first pom pom and after the last pom pom.  Cut off any excess string and use your garland for decoration!
Pom Pom Garland
Pardon the mess of toys in the background 🙂

Leave a comment